New Tekton Design 1812 In Production…

 

SONY DSC

 

SONY DSC

 

Tekton Design 1812 – the best sounding V12 engine on earth!

I’m please to announce production of the newly redesigned and updated Tekton Design 1812. The 1812 signifies the implementation of a single 18″ subwoofer capsule combined with arrays of 12’s for mid-range and high frequency production. We’ve also now added a centrally located super tweeter.

Only moments before posting this release I quickly trolled through http://www.higherfi.com to see if there was anything that reached out and grabbed me. Honestly, not much. I’m confident the the 1812 is going to be an incredibly successful ‘super speaker’. And with a price set to $10K per pair when compared to the abundance of ‘super speakers’ priced between $100K to over $1M we actually plan to produce and sell our ‘super speaker’ in large numbers.

The 1812 is packed with forward thinking innovation and technology… from it’s innovative time/phase alignment, precisely calculated and engineered impulse response, amazing horizontal and vertical power response to the recently allowed patented technology that rewrites the book on how a loudspeaker should be designed and implemented; a new patent that proves our competitors loudspeakers (everything produced today) is obsolete. In layman terms a new patented technology has Tekton Design producing loudspeakers that allow for the subtle nuances, upper order harmonics, and subtle details contained within the source to be reproduced and discerned. Multiple professional reviews are scheduled and in the queue now. Whether your listening taste is 2 channel hi-fi or full home theater the new Tekton 1812 is ideally suited for your needs. The new Tekton 1812 is a truly special loudspeaker!

Note: the Tekton Design 1812 contains patented technology with multiple patents pending including design patents pending.

Sincerely,

Eric Alexander
President
Tekton Design, LLC
www.tektondesign.com
tektondesign@gmail.com
801-836-0764

8 Responses to “New Tekton Design 1812 In Production…”

  1. Mike Gaylord Says:

    First to own, first to comment. I can’t wait ’til they get here, Eric!

  2. It’s what I’ve been looking for, disco sound ,rock concert, real band sound, it is time to start saving!

  3. Wow, you are creative and never satisfied. I will be excited to see reviews and hear these in my home!

  4. Mike Gaylord Says:

    I am proud to say I am the owner of the first pair of 1812 Model V’s. Before I talk about my impression of them, I will first start by discussing my experience other with Tekton products to date.

    I bought a SVS PB13 Ultra sub from a guy who had a pair of Pendragon Towers and a Pendragon Center for his home theater. His room was pretty small, though, and there was no room for Pendragon Surrounds. He could only mount small surround di-pole speakers from another company. He said he absolutely loved his Pendragons but I didn’t have a chance to listen to them since I was pressed for time and had to leave. A short while later, I came across a pair of Pendragon Towers on Craigslist and bought them. I read some reviews online and one reviewer claimed they compete not necessarily with other $2K to $3K speakers, but very hi-fi speakers such as Wilson Audio’s MAXX 3 ($68K), Wisdom Audio’s LS4 ($70K) and Meyer Sound X-10 pro speakers ($30K). After listening to the pair on Craigslist, I was very impressed and took them home.

    My music preferences (which change regularly) are currently deep house, down tempo and chill. After dialing everything in, I was floored at how the Pendragons could simultaneously slam the mids and effortlessly produce low frequencies down to 20Hz. I liked them so much, I bought the show pair Eric brought to the Rocky Mountain Audio Fest to use as the surrounds in my home theater. I have a Pendragon Center and pair of Cinema Subs on order to complete my HT ensemble. In the meantime, the 4 Pendragon Towers sound fantastic with a phantom center and the SVS PB13 Ultra sub. From what I have heard from the LF sections of the 1812’s, however, I expect the Cinema subs will far exceed the sound quality and performance of the SVS.

    On to the 1812’s…

    Since I like to listen to music very loud, I came to the conclusion several years ago that the ultimate solution would be a speaker configured with pro audio output potential and an audiophile sound. The Pendragons satisfied this solution with their pro audio woofers and ring radiator tweeters. While doing my research before securing the first pair of Pendragons, I was intrigued by the 1812’s Eric had on his website. I really didn’t need them since the Pendragons were so great but I had some extra money, had a section in my basement I could dedicate to 2-channel listening area and figured the 1812’s would be the ultimate embodiment of my pro audio/audiophile preference. Based on my experience with the Pendragons and the multitude of awards Eric’s has received on his other speaker models, I plunked down the funds for the 1812’s without listening to them. He informed me he was making a design change (Model V) and asked if I would accept the new configuration. Although the 1812 Model V had never been built or tested, I said yes, absolutely. I trusted him.

    The package came in 8 boxes…4 very large ones for the HF and LF sections and 4 smaller ones with four speaker drivers and hardware. A friend helped me assemble the speakers with the clear written instructions Eric provided. It took a while to put everything together but was well worth the effort. By the end of the night, the 1812’s were bolted, wired and terminated but I didn’t dare turn them on. If there were any issues, I wouldn’t have been able to sleep.

    The next day I fired them up, and, although they were impressive, I needed to make some adjustments. I’m sure most of you have found that the pre-amp, amp and source are critical to the quality of the speaker output. I started with an Oppo BDP-103 player, Sherwood Newcastle R-972 receiver (for pre-amp duty only) and a pair of Crown XLS 2502 amps. After trying numerous configurations (removing the Sherwood, bridging the Crowns for each channel, bi-amping the Crowns for separate HF and LF output), I ended up connecting the Oppo directly to a Crown I-Tech IT5000HD amp. Holy smokes, I have never heard a sound like this before! The highs are crisp and clear with tremendous imaging…the mids are punchy and concise…the lows are clean, correct and enveloping. The more you listen, the more you are drawn into the sound. I heard nuances I hadn’t heard with any other speaker.

    I consider myself an “Audio Enthusiast” which would be less technical than a true Audiophile. Over the past few years, however, I have heard a huge number of speakers at the annual Rocky Mountain Audio Fest. Nothing I have heard at this show produces the audiophile sound with the sheer output of the 1812 Model V’s. These really are the ultimate super speakers.

  5. Derrick Taylor Says:

    First off, these are (Man Speakers!) but let me start first by thanking Eric for affording me the opportunity to audition them and for being a fantastic host. I’ve been in the audio world for the past 15 years now with the last 7 being professionally and I have been a practicing musician since the age of 10. I’ve listened to many speakers from DIY’s to Wilson’s top of the line Alexandria’s and Sonus Faber’s Aida’s. I thoroughly have enjoyed my audio progression and my pursuit of ultimate realism.
    The 1812’s are large v-twin 450hp fuel injected ram air turbo line arrays at least that is the impression they bestowed on me lol. My first thoughts were these will be loud and dig deep but how could they handle delicate and gentle musical passages? When Eric fired up the first song which so happened to contain a female vocalist I was like ok here we go! To my utter disbelief, I realized that my jaw was dropped, my posture sank like a child witnessing there first ever high speed Top Gun F-14 Tom Cat fly over! (You know what I’m talking about here wink wink!) I was so amazed and overwhelmed I asked Eric to stop the music…. I leaned over and said I’ve spent more time with Wilson Audio and can say unequivocally these are better! I am well aware of how profane that statement may be perceived to some and I stand behind it 100%.
    As the music kept coming I just could not believe it, I kept changing genres and couldn’t find any faults. They are fast, articulate, airy, smooth, and give off such a big presentation such as being at a live performance. With the v-twin line array I mentioned earlier it is like having stereo imaging for each ear! It was absolutely incredible!!! The sound stage was magnificent as if you were seated below and the performance was played up above on stage and crystal clear regardless of volume.
    Dynamically these gentle giants can go from Bruce Banner to the Incredible Hulk at the twist of a knob. It is hard to describe how you can be sincerely physically pummeled with the widest grin on your face! I mean the experience is surreal, I couldn’t get these speakers to distort, stress, or anything that would be perceived as a check in the nay category.
    At the heart of the 1812’s is clarity and midrange excellence. If these are attributes that you cannot live without or expect? The 1812’s are your ticket!

  6. I managed to make it to RMAF this yr (’16) for the first time and I missed seeing Tekton there. I hope it was because things are too busy for Eric. I have yet to hear a single Tekton speaker but I bought a pair of OB Sigmas based on reviews alone and the special offer Eric has offered. I haven’t received them as yet but based on years of dipole enjoyment (Apogee Duettas with Hsu Research subs) I was intrigued by Erics design theory and his obvious satisfaction with his creations. If he says they’re great who am I to argue! I’ll find out soon enough and I am expecting to be quite sayisfied. If not I just pay the difference and go with his Pendragons! The 1812’s? It would no doubt be fabulous but, sadly, I’ve got nowhere near the kind of space to let those sing.

Leave a Reply

