URUZ measurements to be published!

I’m very proud of the level of engineering execution we’ve achieved regarding the Uruz loudspeaker. The Uruz model truly raises the bar to a new level of performance in the high sensitivity direct radiator loudspeaker category.

And now that the new Zu Essence measurement data is in the public domain (October 2009 Stereophile review), I’ve chosen to go public with Uruz performance data. After all, both loudspeakers are geared towards an identical audience. Both systems use nearly identical 10” drivers (though I choose not to implement the phase plug modification), and they both use ribbons.

Here’s what the URUZ promises to deliver:

  • Superior frequency response linearity
  • Improved impedance linearity
  • Superior phase response
  • A true 8 Ohm system – with a Z-minimum of 6.16 Ohm
  • Superior impulse response & step response
  • A near identical sensitivity SPL performance rating

More to come…watch for the URUZ loudspeaker performance data to be published very soon.

Best regards,

Eric Alexander

4 Responses to “URUZ measurements to be published!”

  1. Your site was extremely interesting, especially since I was searching for thoughts on this subject last Thursday. 🙂

  2. I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read….

  3. As a long-time owner of the Uruz’s, I look forward to seeing your measurements.
    Art Dudley liked the Zu Essences in his review but they sure don’t seem to have measurements to back up the performance.
    Atkinson seemed disappointed in how they meausred.
    Sonically, do you know whether the new Zu Essence is that different than the Zu Druid.
    I heard the Druid at a show a few years ago and your Uruz’s clearly out-perform them.
    How would you say the Uruz measures up to the Zu Essence?

  4. Hi Jay,

    Thanks for your post.

    Our competitors newer design does produce more bass output over their old one. It’s actually a simple approach: nearly double the depth and the overall internal volume of your enclosure to get more bass output.

    As tempting as it is for me…. at this point I will choose to refrain from further comments and simply let the measurements speak for my work.

    However, feel free to call me and I will point out a number of key differences regarding the two competing designs.

    I know you are already pleased with the Uruz performance and I think you will be very happy once you see the measurements!

    Cheers,

    Eric

Leave a Reply

